Charity: “Beanies for Bravery” (students at Sandy Hook) – UPDATE!!

Another great cause to take part in…this one is to help the surviving students of Sandy Hook Elementary. Update: they have now included knitted hats too!! Must follow these yarn, pattern, color and size of finished hat.

Greens:

Red Heart With Love Clover

Vanna’s Choice Kelly Green

Red Heart Super Saver Paddy Green

I’ll buy the yarn and welcome any of my fellow Crocheter & Knitters to join in. It’s a simple pattern (see link below).  I’ll collect hats until 1/26 and will mail them to her –  she must have them by 1/31.

Details, click –> Beanies for Barvery students in sandyhook 12 2012

For knitters: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/beanies-for-the-brave

UPDATE 12/21 – Kudos Panera and manager Amy!!!! For the 3rd year Panera has offered to sponsor our annual charity!! Their $100 donation will buy a lot of skeins of yarn!

Thank you Karna for picking up skeins of Vanna Choice yarn. And a huge thanks to all of the gals who have jumped on board to make these beanies – you are the best!! I will have more yarn next week when we meet!!

 

6 thoughts on “Charity: “Beanies for Bravery” (students at Sandy Hook) – UPDATE!!

  1. I wish she had a picture of the beanie hat. There are several different styles, and I would like to help…but I can only knit. I can pick up the yarn and make the style I’ve made for my grandsons and hope it is OK. Do you have a picture of a finished one so I can see the style?

  2. thanks….will pick up yarn this Friday….I was going to do it myself, but this is so much more meaningful with our wonderful group ! Lois

  3. Hi Dahlia,

    I have not learned the art of the needle but if you like I will give some $$ to the cause.

    let me know friday ann

    • Oh Ann, you are a dear! I really appreciate your offer but no need for $$ for this cause. You’ll be surprised at how easily you can learn how to crochet this hat. I will bring extra I hooks on Friday and show whomever wants to learn. 😉

Leave a Reply

